Scale Drawing for the Tarrytown Lighthouse, 1985
 Entire Record

The engineer’s drawing of the Tarrytown Lighthouse documents some of the work performed to renovate this century-old lighthouse following its 1974 takeover by Westchester County. The Tarrytown Lighthouse, which operated to warn ships of dangers in the Hudson River from 1882 until 1961, was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1979 and is accessible via the 18-acre Kingsland Point Park in Sleepy Hollow, N.Y.

The scale drawing produced by the Westchester County Department of Public Works, Division of Engineering, specifies the exterior painting requirements for every section of the structure. It is a unique local government record, but one of only thousands of maps and plans produced over the years by the county’s Department of Public Works that are in the collections of the Westchester County Archives.

This record is also associated with:
Sleepy Hollow

Title Scale Drawing for the Tarrytown Lighthouse Format Large Format Drawing
Repository Westchester County Archives Number of Pages 1
Collection Dept. of Public Works Plans Dimensions 19" x 26"
Call Number 8-12-A-9 (DR 29) Transcription NA
Creator A. Gismondi jpeg File Name lighthouse1.jpg
Creation Date May, 1985 tif File Name lighthouse1.tif

Historical Treasures Home | Communities | WCA | WCHS | Site Map
Virtual Archives Home
top of page