The Dobbs family settled in the Dobbs Ferry area ca. 1698. The family operated a periauger ferry across the Hudson until 1759, when it was taken over and run from the Rockland County side, closing in 1903. The periauger was a unique sailing craft, modeled after the dugout canoe and using sails based on the early Dutch two-masters.

Incorporated in 1873 as the village of Greenburgh, the village reverted to its original name of Dobbs Ferry in 1882. It is one of the six villages within the town of Greenburgh and is located between Hastings-on-Hudson to the south and Irvington to the north, with Ardsley on its eastern border.

Visit the Village of Dobbs Ferry online

Photostat of Map Designed
to Accompany Report on
the Wilsea Brook,
Sept. 3, 1878

Mohican Glee Club
Programme,
April 11, 1904

Post Cards of
Dobbs Ferry Scenes,
ca. 1910

Brochure for Oceana Group,
1978

Anchor Brewing
Company Calendar,
1897

Letter from
Frannie Frey Grady,
April 30, 1908

Photographs of Wilsea-Mead
House and Clara Mead,
ca. 1915 1925